pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
Visit our new collection website www.collectionsforschool.co.uk
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: WOLVES IN THE DARK
By: Gunnar Staalesen, Don Bartlett (Trans)
Format: Paperback

List price: £8.99
Our price: £6.56
Discount:
27% off
You save: £2.43
ISBN 10: 1910633720
ISBN 13: 9781910633724
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 7 available
Publisher: ORENDA BOOKS
Pub. date: 15 June, 2017
Series: Varg Veum
Pages: 240
Translated from: Norwegian
Description: PI Varg Veum fights for his reputation, his freedom and his life, when child pornography is found on his computer and he is arrested and jailed. Worse still, his memory is a blank... Stunning Nordic Noir.
Synopsis: Reeling from the death of his great love, Karin, Varg Veum's life has descended into a self-destructive spiral of alcohol, lust, grief and blackouts.When traces of child pornography are found on his computer, he's accused of being part of a paedophile ring and thrown into a prison cell. There, he struggles to sift through his past to work out who is responsible for planting the material ...and who is seeking the ultimate revenge.When a chance to escape presents itself, Varg finds himself on the run in his hometown of Bergen. With the clock ticking and the police on his tail, Varg takes on his hardest - and most personal - case yet.Chilling, shocking and exceptionally gripping, Wolves in the Dark reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost thriller writers.For fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald, Thomas Enger, Kjell Ola Dahl, Jorn Lier Horst, Johan Theorin
Publication: UK
Imprint: Orenda Books
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
A DEATH IN THE FAMILY
A DEATH IN THE FAMILY (PB)
A MAN IN LOVE
A MAN IN LOVE (HB)
A MAN IN LOVE (PB)
ANGES DECHUS (PB)
ASHES IN MY MOUTH, SAND IN MY SHOES
ASHES IN MY MOUTH, SAND IN MY SHOES (PB)
ASHES IN MY MOUTH, SAND IN MY SHOES (PB)
AT NIGHT ALL WOLVES ARE GREY (HB)
BEATLES (PB)
BEATLES (PB)
BEFORE I BURN
BEFORE I BURN (PB)
BIG SISTER (PB)
BORDERS (HB)
BORDERS (PB)
BORDERS (PB)
BOYHOOD ISLAND
BOYHOOD ISLAND (HB)
BOYHOOD ISLAND (PB)
CHILD WONDER (PB)
COLD HEARTS
COLD HEARTS (PB)
DANCING IN THE DARK
DANCING IN THE DARK (HB)
DANCING IN THE DARK (PB)
DOPPLER
DOPPLER (HB)
ECHOLAND
ECHOLAND (HB)
ECHOLAND (PB)
FAITHLESS (PB)
FROZEN WOMAN (PB)
HEADHUNTERS
HEADHUNTERS (PB)
HEADHUNTERS (PB)
HOME AND AWAY
HOME AND AWAY (HB)
HOME AND AWAY (PB)
HOME AND AWAY (PB)
I REFUSE
I REFUSE (HB)
I REFUSE (PB)
I REFUSE (PB)
IT'S FINE BY ME
IT'S FINE BY ME (HB)
IT'S FINE BY ME (PB)
LA BELLE DORMIT CENT ANS (PB)
LA FEMME DANS LE FRIGO (PB)
LAZY DAYS
LAZY DAYS (HB)
MES PREMIERES DECOUVERTES (HB)
MES PREMIERES DECOUVERTES (HB)
MES PREMIERES DECOUVERTES (HB)
MODEL (PB)
NEMESIS
NEMESIS (PB)
NEMESIS (PB)
PHANTOM
PHANTOM (PB)
PHANTOM (PB)
QUESTIONS ASKED (HB)
SNOWMAN (PB)
SOME RAIN MUST FALL
SOME RAIN MUST FALL (HB)
SOME RAIN MUST FALL (PB)
THE BAT
THE BAT (PB)
THE BAT (PB)
THE BAT (PB)
THE BURNT-OUT TOWN OF MIRACLES (HB)
THE BURNT-OUT TOWN OF MIRACLES (PB)
THE CHILDREN
THE CONSORTS OF DEATH
THE CONSORTS OF DEATH (PB)
THE DEVIL'S STAR
THE DEVIL'S STAR (PB)
THE DEVIL'S STAR (PB)
THE DEVIL'S STAR (PB)
THE DISAPPEARING CHILDREN (HB)
THE FROZEN WOMAN (HB)
THE LEOPARD
THE LEOPARD (PB)
THE LEOPARD (PB)
THE REDBREAST
THE REDBREAST (PB)
THE REDBREAST (PB)
THE REDEEMER
THE REDEEMER (PB)
THE REDEEMER (PB)
THE SNOWMAN
THE SNOWMAN (CD)
THE SNOWMAN (HB)
THE SNOWMAN (PB)
THE SNOWMAN (PB)
THE SNOWMAN (PB)
THE THIRST
THE THIRST (CD)
THE THIRST (HB)
THE THIRST (PB)
THE UNSEEN (HB)
THE UNSEEN (HB)
THE UNSEEN (PB)
THE WRITING ON THE WALL
THE WRITING ON THE WALL (PB)
THE WRITING ON THE WALL (PB)
WE SHALL INHERIT THE WIND (PB)
WHERE ROSES NEVER DIE (PB)
WHERE ROSES NEVER DIE (PB)
WOLVES AT THE DOOR
YOURS UNTIL DEATH
YOURS UNTIL DEATH (PB)

TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
The Power of the Dog (Paperback)
By: Don Winslow
Cornerstone
Our Price : £7.29
more details
A Study in Scarlet & The Sign of the Four (Paperback)
By: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, David Stuart Davies, Dr. Keith Carabine
Wordsworth Editions Ltd
Our Price : £1.83
more details
Die Trying (Paperback)
By: Lee Child
Transworld Publishers Ltd
Our Price : £6.56
more details
The Trespasser (Hardback)
By: Tana French
Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Our Price : £12.74
more details
The Sign of the Four (Paperback)
By: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
HarperCollins Publishers
Our Price : £1.83
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 FICTION
 genre fiction
 crime & mystery


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 


Oxford Dictionaries up to 40% Off
Oxford First Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
Major new edition of the Oxford First Dictionary in paperback includes new words and more pages to improve spelling, extend vocabulary and support comprehension in the curriculum. Its accessible alphabetical layout and new supplement on spelling and grammar tips and activities, makes it the perfect first dictionary for home and for starting school!
add to basket

Oxford Dictionaries up to 40% Off
Oxford School Spelling, Punctuation and Grammar Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
The Oxford School Spelling, Punctuation, and Grammar Dictionary is an invaluable guide to getting your spelling, punctuation and grammar right.
add to basket

Oxford Dictionaries up to 40% Off
How to Write Your Best Story Ever!
By: CHRISTOPHER EDGE, NATHAN REED (ILLUS)
This is a humorous and authoritative book that will awaken the author in every child. Written by children's fiction author, Christopher Edge.
add to basket

Summer Read For Him
Football in the 1980s
By: MICHAEL KEANE
From Saint & Greavsie to `the Hand of God''
add to basket

Summer Read For Her
Becoming
By: MICHELLE OBAMA
An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States'A genuine page-turner, full of intimacies and reflections' Evening Standard'A polished pearl of a memoir' New York Times 'A rich, entertaining and candid memoir. And overall Obama's a fun person to sit alongside as she tells you the story of her life . . . it is as beautifully written as any piece of fiction' i In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of the United States of America - the first African-American to serve in that role - she helped create the most welcoming and inclusive White House in history, while also establishing herself as a powerful advocate for women and girls in the U.S. and around the world, dramatically changing the ways that families pursue healthier and more active lives, and standing with her husband as he led America through some of its most harrowing moments.
add to basket

Summer Read For Children
A Place Called Perfect
By: HELENA DUGGAN
Violet hates living in Perfect. Why does everyone have to wear special glasses to stop them going blind? What are the strange noises in the night and why is Mum acting so weird? Then Dad disappears and Violet is determined to uncover the truth with the help of the mysterious Boy. But returning normality to Perfect is a battle they never imagined...
add to basket

Children's Spring Catalogue up to 35% Off
Thirteen Reasons Why
By: JAY ASHER
Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker - his classmate and first love - who committed suicide. Hannah's voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself and Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why.
add to basket

Alligators Mouth award Longlist up to 35% Off
Legend of Kevin: A Roly-Poly Flying Pony Adventure
By: PHILIP REEVE
Kevin the flying pony blows in on a magical storm and - DOOF! - crashes into the balcony outside Max''s flat. As the storm waters rise and the town is besieged with creatures, Max and Kevin set about putting things right. With Max''s quick thinking and a constant supply of biscuits for Kevin, there''s nothing this heroic duo can''t achieve!
add to basket