pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: IN THE DAYS OF RAIN
By: Rebecca Stott
Format: Paperback

List price: £9.99
Our price: £7.29
Discount:
27% off
You save: £2.70
ISBN 10: 0008209197
ISBN 13: 9780008209193
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 294 available
Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
Pub. date: 25 January, 2018
Pages: 400
Description: In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult.
Synopsis: In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult. `At university when I made new friends and confidantes, I couldn't explain how I'd become a teenage mother, or shoplifted books for years, or why I was afraid of the dark and had a compulsion to rescue people, without explaining about the Brethren or the God they made for us, and the Rapture they told us was coming. But then I couldn't really begin to talk about the Brethren without explaining about my father...' As Rebecca Stott's father lay dying he begged her to help him write the memoir he had been struggling with for years. He wanted to tell the story of their family, who, for generations had all been members of a fundamentalist Christian sect. Yet, each time he reached a certain point, he became tangled in a thicket of painful memories and could not go on. The sect were a closed community who believed the world is ruled by Satan: non-sect books were banned, women were made to wear headscarves and those who disobeyed the rules were punished. Rebecca was born into the sect, yet, as an intelligent, inquiring child she was always asking dangerous questions. She would discover that her father, an influential preacher, had been asking them too, and that the fault-line between faith and doubt had almost engulfed him. In In the Days of Rain Rebecca gathers the broken threads of her father's story, and her own, and follows him into the thicket to tell of her family's experiences within the sect, and the decades-long aftermath of their breaking away.
Publication: UK
Imprint: Fourth Estate Ltd
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE (HB)
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE (PB)
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE (PB)
DARWIN'S GHOSTS
DARWIN'S GHOSTS (PB)
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING (HB)
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING (PB)
GHOSTWALK
GHOSTWALK (PB)
GHOSTWALK (PB)
GRAMMAR AND WRITING (PB)
IN THE DAYS OF RAIN
IN THE DAYS OF RAIN
IN THE DAYS OF RAIN (HB)
IRON ROOM (PB)
MAKING YOUR CASE: A PRACTICAL GUIDE TO ESSAY WRITING (PB)
OYSTER
OYSTER (PB)
SPEAKING YOUR MIND (PB)
TENNYSON
TENNYSON
TENNYSON
TENNYSON (HB)
TENNYSON (PB)
THE CORAL THIEF (HB)
THE CORAL THIEF (HB)
THE CORAL THIEF (PB)
THE CORAL THIEF (PB)
THE FABRICATION OF THE LATE VICTORIAN FEMME FATALE
THE FABRICATION OF THE LATE VICTORIAN FEMME FATALE (HB)
THE FABRICATION OF THE LATE VICTORIAN FEMME FATALE (PB)
THEATRES OF GLASS (HB)
VALUEPACK: GRAMMAR & WRITING & MAKING YOUR CASE: A PRACTICAL GUIDE TO ESSAY WRITING (PB)
WRITING WITH STYLE (PB)

CUSTOMERS WHO PURCHASED THIS ITEM ALSO BOUGHT
Roots (Paperback)
By: Alex Haley
more details
To Kill A Mockingbird (Paperback)
By: Harper Lee
more details
The Godfather (Paperback)
By: Mario Puzo
more details
TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
When Breath Becomes Air (Paperback)
By: Paul Kalanithi
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £6.56
more details
Unnatural Causes (Hardback)
By: Richard Shepherd
Penguin Books Ltd
Our Price : £14.60
more details
Fingers in the Sparkle Jar (Paperback)
By: Chris Packham
Ebury Publishing
Our Price : £6.56
more details
The Old Man and the Sand Eel (Hardback)
By: Will Millard
Penguin Books Ltd
Our Price : £10.94
more details
The Umbrian Thursday Night Supper Club (Paperback)
By: Marlena De Blasi
Cornerstone
Our Price : £6.56
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND BIOGRAPHY
 biography & autobiography


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

40% off Oxford University Press Dictionaries
Oxford English Thesaurus for Schools
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
The Oxford English Thesaurus for Schools is carefully targeted to support secondary school students with their creative writing, to extend vocabulary, improve spelling, punctuation, and grammar, and to inspire them to become confident writers.
add to basket

New Title
Turtles all the way down
By: GREEN JOHN
Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett. But there's a hundred thousand dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett's son, Davis. ------Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts. ------In his long-awaited return, John Green, the acclaimed, award-winning author of Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars, shares Aza's story with shattering, unflinching clarity in this brilliant novel of mental health, love, resilience, and the power of lifelong friendship.
add to basket

Oxford Textbook Promotion
Tricolore 5e edition Student Book 1
By: HEATHER MASCIE-TAYLOR, SYLVIA HONNOR, MICHAEL SPENCER
5th edition of the high-ability French course, fully supported by Kerboodle.
add to basket

New Title
Wizards of Once: Twice Magic
By: CRESSIDA COWELL
From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Murderer''s Ape
By: JAKOB WEGELIUS
Sally Jones is not only a loyal friend, she's an extraordinary individual. In overalls or in a maharaja's turban, this unique gorilla moves among humans without speaking but understanding everything. She and the Chief are devoted comrades who operate a cargo boat. A job they are offered pays big bucks, but the deal ends badly, and the Chief is falsely convicted of murder. For Sally Jones this is the start of a harrowing quest for survival and to clear the Chief's name. Powerful forces are working against her, and they will do anything to protect their secrets
add to basket

New Title
Boy At the Back of the Class
By: ONJALI RAUF
WONDER meets Walliams meets TWO WEEKS WITH THE QUEEN - told through the eyes of an 8-year old child, this is a heart-warming and funny story about the refugee crisis that shows how simple it can be to show kindness even in a world that doesn''t always make sense...
add to basket

New Title
HEAD KID
By: DAVID BADDIEL
From the million-copy bestselling author of THE PARENT AGENCY and BIRTHDAY BOY comes a wildly entertaining wish-fulfilment adventure that asks the question: what would happen if the strictest head teacher swapped bodies with the naughtiest kid in school? Strictest head naughtiest boy = chaos. Bracket Wood is about to be visited by the school inspectors. But there's one big problem: Ryan Ward. The maestro of practical jokes, Ryan has played so many tricks that in the end the Head Teacher just walks out. And then the new Head Teacher, Mr Carter, arrives. A man so strict even the teachers are scared of him. So imagine his surprise - and Ryan's - when they swap bodies. Now Ryan is Head Teacher - and his mortal enemy is one of his pupils.
add to basket

35% off Promotional Titles
Poppy Field
By: MICHAEL MORPURGO
A new picture-book classic celebrating the poppy's history, from two legends of children's literature. Michael Morpurgo and Michael Foreman have teamed up with the Royal British Legion to tell an original story that explains the meaning behind the poppy.In Flanders' fields, young Martens knows his family's story, for it is as precious as the faded poem hanging in their home. From a poor girl comforting a grieving soldier, to an unexpected meeting of strangers, to a father's tragic death many decades after treaties were signed, war has shaped Martens's family in profound ways - it is their history as much as any nation's. They remember. They grieve. They honour the past. This book also includes a full-colour, illustrated afterword that explains the history that inspired the story.
add to basket

New Title
WE ARE ALL LEMMINGS AND SNOWFLAKES
By: HOLLY BOURNE
Welcome to Camp Reset, a summer camp with a difference. A place offering a shot at "normality" for Olive, a girl on the edge, and for her new friends, who are all dealing with their own battles. But as Olive settles in, she starts to wonder - maybe it's this messed up world that needs fixing, and not them. And so she comes up with a plan. Because together, snowflakes can form avalanches... A trailblazing and painfully honest novel about mental health, friendship and making this crazy world a kinder place.
add to basket