pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: IN THE DAYS OF RAIN
By: Rebecca Stott
Format: Paperback

List price: £9.99
Our price: £7.29
Discount:
27% off
You save: £2.70
ISBN 10: 0008209197
ISBN 13: 9780008209193
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 338 available
Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
Pub. date: 25 January, 2018
Pages: 400
Description: In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult.
Synopsis: In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult. `At university when I made new friends and confidantes, I couldn't explain how I'd become a teenage mother, or shoplifted books for years, or why I was afraid of the dark and had a compulsion to rescue people, without explaining about the Brethren or the God they made for us, and the Rapture they told us was coming. But then I couldn't really begin to talk about the Brethren without explaining about my father...' As Rebecca Stott's father lay dying he begged her to help him write the memoir he had been struggling with for years. He wanted to tell the story of their family, who, for generations had all been members of a fundamentalist Christian sect. Yet, each time he reached a certain point, he became tangled in a thicket of painful memories and could not go on. The sect were a closed community who believed the world is ruled by Satan: non-sect books were banned, women were made to wear headscarves and those who disobeyed the rules were punished. Rebecca was born into the sect, yet, as an intelligent, inquiring child she was always asking dangerous questions. She would discover that her father, an influential preacher, had been asking them too, and that the fault-line between faith and doubt had almost engulfed him. In In the Days of Rain Rebecca gathers the broken threads of her father's story, and her own, and follows him into the thicket to tell of her family's experiences within the sect, and the decades-long aftermath of their breaking away.
Publication: UK
Imprint: Fourth Estate Ltd
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE (HB)
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE (PB)
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE (PB)
DARWIN'S GHOSTS
DARWIN'S GHOSTS (PB)
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING (HB)
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING (PB)
GHOSTWALK
GHOSTWALK (PB)
GHOSTWALK (PB)
GRAMMAR AND WRITING (PB)
IN THE DAYS OF RAIN
IN THE DAYS OF RAIN
IN THE DAYS OF RAIN (HB)
IRON ROOM (PB)
MAKING YOUR CASE: A PRACTICAL GUIDE TO ESSAY WRITING (PB)
OYSTER
OYSTER (PB)
SPEAKING YOUR MIND (PB)
TENNYSON
TENNYSON
TENNYSON
TENNYSON (HB)
TENNYSON (PB)
THE CORAL THIEF (HB)
THE CORAL THIEF (HB)
THE CORAL THIEF (PB)
THE CORAL THIEF (PB)
THE FABRICATION OF THE LATE VICTORIAN FEMME FATALE
THE FABRICATION OF THE LATE VICTORIAN FEMME FATALE (HB)
THE FABRICATION OF THE LATE VICTORIAN FEMME FATALE (PB)
THEATRES OF GLASS (HB)
VALUEPACK: GRAMMAR & WRITING & MAKING YOUR CASE: A PRACTICAL GUIDE TO ESSAY WRITING (PB)
WRITING WITH STYLE (PB)

CUSTOMERS WHO PURCHASED THIS ITEM ALSO BOUGHT
Roots (Paperback)
By: Alex Haley
more details
To Kill A Mockingbird (Paperback)
By: Harper Lee
more details
The Godfather (Paperback)
By: Mario Puzo
more details
TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
Fabulous Finn (Hardback)
By: Dave Wardell, Lynne Barrett-Lee
Quercus Publishing
Our Price : £12.40
more details
When Breath Becomes Air (Paperback)
By: Paul Kalanithi
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £6.56
more details
Fingers in the Sparkle Jar (Paperback)
By: Chris Packham
Ebury Publishing
Our Price : £6.56
more details
The Old Man and the Sand Eel (Hardback)
By: Will Millard
Penguin Books Ltd
Our Price : £10.94
more details
Never Quit (Hardback)
By: Jimmy Settle, Don Rearden
St Martin's Press
Our Price : £14.69
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND BIOGRAPHY
 biography & autobiography


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Checkout our World Cup Collections!
The Official History of the FIFA World Cup
By: FIFA WORLD FOOTBALL MUSEUM
The Official History of the FIFA World Cup Book is an authoritative and comprehensive review of the 20 FIFA World Cups to have taken place since the inaugural tournament in 1930.
add to basket

Up to 40% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Thesaurus
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
An up-to-date new edition of this bestselling, comprehensive classroom classic, with new curriculum support. Focused coverage of words, synonyms and antonyms help to improve writing skills, for creative writing and non-fiction. Essential spelling, grammar and punctuation support makes it perfect for progress from primary to secondary school.
add to basket

Oxford Textbook Promotion
Oxford A Level Religious Studies for OCR: Year 2 Student Boo...
By: LIBBY AHLUWALIA, ROBERT BOWIE
Oxford A Level Religious Studies for OCR is a brand new course developed by renowned authors Libby Ahluwalia and Robert Bowie for the 2016 OCR specification. This textbook supports a deep engagement with philosophy, ethics and the study of Christianity using language and an approach accessible to all students.
add to basket

35% off Selected titles
Encounters
By: JASON WALLACE
Zimbabwe, 1994. A group of children spot peculiar lights in the sky over the grounds of their school. From this moment on, six young people's lives are changed forever. Gary hides the anguish he feels now his mum's left, acting out in fury and hatred. Chloe has no words for the thing she fears most every day.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Splash Day!
By: NICK SHARRATT
A fun and colourful rhyming tale from one of the UKs most beloved author-illustrators, Nick Sharratt.
add to basket

35% off Bond
Bond 11+: Verbal Reasoning: Stretch Papers
By: FRANCES DOWN, KAREN MORRISON, ALISON PRIMROSE
Bond Verbal Reasoning Stretch Practice for 10-11+ years has been designed for children who are excelling in verbal reasoning. It is filled with challenging questions to stretch the very brightest minds to help improve performance in the 11+ test and other selective school exams.
add to basket

New Title
MY ARCH ENEMY IS A BRAIN IN A JAR
By: DAVID SOLOMONS
Luke and Zack swapped bodies at the end of their previous adventure and now they have to live with the consequences. Luke finally has the superpowers he craves, but at what price? GCSE physics, that''s what. And then along comes a brain in a jar trying to destroy him. Luke didn''t realise being a superhero was so much work...
add to basket

Up to 35% off Promotional Titles
Explorer
By: KATHERINE RUNDELL
Winner of the Costa Children's Book Award, Winner of the London Book Fair Children's Travel Book of the Year From his seat in the tiny aeroplane, Fred watches as the mysteries of the Amazon jungle pass by below him. He has always dreamed of becoming an explorer, of making history and of reading his name amongst the lists of great discoveries. If only he could land and look about him. As the plane crashes into the canopy, Fred is suddenly left without a choice. He and the three other children may be alive, but the jungle is a vast, untamed place. With no hope of rescue, the chance of getting home feels impossibly small. Except, it seems, someone has been there before them
add to basket

New Title
Football School Season 2: Where Football Explains the World
By: SPIKE GERRELL
The second book in the groundbreaking new series from two bestselling writers that teaches you about the world through football. This book is packed with awesome true stories, real science and fascinating facts and will make you laugh loads - and it's all about football. What is a vomitory? When do footballers wee? Where do goalkeepers let in chickens? When did women start playing football? You'll find the answers to these questions and more in chapters on subjects such as biology, maths and history. Illustrated throughout with hilarious cartoons and filled with laugh-out-loud gags this is the perfect book for any boy or girl who loves football.
add to basket