pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: THE HISTORIAN
By: Elizabeth Kostova
Format: Paperback

List price: £10.99
Our price: £8.02
Discount:
27% off
You save: £2.97
ISBN 10: 0751537284
ISBN 13: 9780751537284
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 23 available
Publisher: LITTLE, BROWN BOOK GROUP
Pub. date: 6 February, 2006
Pages: 752
Description: * The International Sensation* In the tradition of THE SECRET HISTORY and THE ALIENIST - a captivating and suspenseful novel that delves into the true history of Count Dracula . . .
Synopsis: Late one night, exploring her father's library, a young woman finds an ancient book and a cache of yellowing letters addressed ominously to 'My dear and unfortunate successor'. Her discovery plunges her into a world she never dreamed of - a labyrinth where the secrets of her father's past and her mother's mysterious fate connect to an evil hidden in the depths of history. In those few quiet moments, she unwittingly assumes a quest she will discover is her birthright - a hunt for the truth about Vlad the Impaler, the medieval ruler whose barbarous reign formed the basis of the Dracula myth. Deciphering obscure signs and hidden texts, reading codes worked into the fabric of medieval monastic traditions, and evading terrifying adversaries, one woman comes ever closer to the secret of her own past and a confrontation with the very definition of evil. Elizabeth Kostova's debut novel is an adventure of monumental proportions - a captivating tale that blends fact and fantasy, history and the present with an assurance that is almost unbearably suspenseful - and utterly unforgettable.
Publication: UK
Imprint: Sphere
Prizes: Commended for Richard & Judy Book Club 2006 (UK)
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:


CUSTOMERS WHO PURCHASED THIS ITEM ALSO BOUGHT
Cirque Du Freak (Paperback)
By: Darren Shan
more details
The Vampire's Assistant (Paperback)
By: Darren Shan
more details
Hunters of the Dusk (Paperback)
By: Darren Shan
more details
TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
The Underground Railroad (Paperback)
By: Colson Whitehead
Little, Brown Book Group
Our Price : £6.56
more details
Call Me By Your Name (Paperback)
By: Andre Aciman
Atlantic Books
Our Price : £6.56
more details
The Handmaid's Tale (Paperback)
By: Margaret Atwood
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £6.56
more details
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (Paperback)
By: Mark Haddon
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £5.83
more details
The Handmaid's Tale (Paperback)
By: Margaret Atwood
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £6.56
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 FICTION
 general & literary fiction
 modern fiction


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off New Titles
Paddington's Finest Hour
By: MICHAEL BOND, R. W. ALLEY (ILLUS), PEGGY FORTNUM
Celebrate Paddington Bear's 60th birthday in 2018 with this hilarious new classic novel from master storyteller Michael Bond! Paddington is now a major movie star.
add to basket

Up to 35% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Shakespeare: Macbeth
By: WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE, ROMA GILL
Macbeth is one of the most popular texts for study by secondary students the world over. This edition includes illustrations, preliminary notes, reading lists (including websites) and classroom notes.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
All About Mia
By: LISA WILLIAMSON
From no. 1 Bestselling YA author Lisa Williamson, comes another insightful and unputdownable teen drama - All About Mia. A brilliant look into the mind of a teenager stuck in the middle.
add to basket

Berkshire Book Award Shortlisted
The Wizards of Once
By: CRESSIDA COWELL
From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites.
add to basket

30% off 2018 Carnegie Nominations
Cogheart
By: PETER BUNZL
When 13-year-old Lily's inventor father vanishes after a Zeppelin crash, Lily's determined to hunt down the truth behind his disappearance, helped by Robert, the local clockmaker's son, and her wily mechanical fox Malkin. But shadowy figures are closing in and treachery lurks among the smoky spires of London - along with a life-changing secret.
add to basket


Up to 35% off New Titles
add to basket

New Title
Nancy Parker's Chilling Conclusions
By: JULIA LEE
Nancy Parker has a new job, she's accompanying her old school teacher Miss Lamb as a ladies' maid to Midwinter Manor. But things take a turn for the worst when Nancy discovers a dead body in the library. With a house full of strange guests, who could possibly be the murderer?
add to basket