pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: THE BLACK RIBBON
By: Eliza Wass
Format: Paperback

List price: £7.99
Our price: £5.83
Discount:
27% off
You save: £2.16
ISBN 10: 1784295272
ISBN 13: 9781784295271
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 107 available
Publisher: HACHETTE CHILDREN'S GROUP
Pub. date: 15 June, 2017
Pages: 384
Description: Strange rituals, hauntings and the occult collide in this darkly memorable YA thriller from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Louise O'Neill, Sarah Waters and Donna Tartt.
Synopsis: 'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILL on In the Dark, In the Woods Kitty has had an idyllic childhood growing up alongside the wealthy Bramley family in rural England, as the daughter of the head housekeeper. But when the prophecy of a psychic leads to the death of the family's golden boy, Nikki, the house become dark, haunted by memories of the past. One day a young boy is brought to the house to help them: a boy who can speak to the dead. Kitty is convinced he's a charlatan - but the 'magic' seems to work. The darkness is lifting. But there are things Kitty can't ignore - evidence of strange rituals, shadows of the boy she lost, and Kitty begins to suspect that this boy had something to do with Nikki's death. More, that he may have the very real power to bring him back...
Publication: UK
Imprint: Quercus Children's Books
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:

CUSTOMERS WHO PURCHASED THIS ITEM ALSO BOUGHT
An Eagle in the Snow (Paperback)
By: Michael Morpurgo
more details
Time Travelling with a Hamster (Paperback)
By: Ross Welford
more details
The Riverbank Otter (Paperback)
By: Sarah Lean
more details
TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
The Graveyard Book (Paperback)
By: Neil Gaiman, Chris Riddell (Illus)
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Our Price : £5.19
more details
Coraline (Paperback)
By: Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean (Illus)
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Our Price : £4.54
more details
Five Nights at Freddy's: The Twisted Ones (Paperback)
By: Scott Cawthon, Kira Breed-Wrisley
Scholastic US
Our Price : £5.83
more details
Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children (Paperback)
By: Ransom Riggs
Quirk Books
Our Price : £6.56
more details
The Creakers (Hardback)
By: Tom Fletcher, Shane Devries (Illus)
Penguin Books Ltd
Our Price : £9.48
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 CHILDREN'S AND EDUCATIONAL
 children's fiction
 adventure stories
 horror & ghost stories, chillers


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

36% Off Oxford Best Sellers
To the Edge of the World
By: JULIA GREEN
A beautifully written tale of courage, friendship, and survival. Jamie had thought that if he could just reach the boat then he could convince Mara to stay, but now he was onboard and along for the ride. There was no going back, they were in this together - sailing to the islands at the edge of the world.
add to basket

Cambridge English Lit Promotion
Romeo and Juliet
By: WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE, ROBERT SMITH (EDITOR), REX GIBSON (EDIT...
An improved, larger-format edition of the Cambridge School Shakespeare plays, extensively rewritten, expanded and produced in an attractive new design.
add to basket

Oxford Textbook Promotion
Oxford Playscripts: Frankenstein
By: MARY SHELLEY
Presents the famous story of a young man who thinks he can change the world by making better human beings. Instead he creates a living monster with a mind of its own. This book contains activities designed to support the KS3 Framework for Teaching English and help students to meet the Framework objectives.
add to basket

New Title
Imagine
By:
Personally compiled and curated by Yoko Ono, Imagine John Yoko is the definitive inside story - told in revelatory detail - of the making of the legendary album and all that surrounded it: the locations, the creative team, the artworks and the films, in the words of John & Yoko and the people who were there. Features 80% exclusive, hitherto-unpublished archive photos and footage sequences of all the key players in situ, together with lyric sheets, Yoko's art installations, and exclusive new insights and personal testimonies from Yoko and over forty of the musicians, engineers, staff, celebrities, artists and photographers who were there - including Julian Lennon, Klaus Voormann, Alan White, Jim Keltner, David Bailey, Dick Cavett and Sir Michael Parkinson. `A lot has been written about the creation of the song, the album and the film of Imagine, mainly by people who weren't there, so I'm very pleased and grateful that now, for the first time, so many of the participants have kindly given their time to "gimme some truth" in their own words and pictures' Yoko Ono Lennon, 2018 In 1971, John Lennon & Yoko Ono conceived and recorded the critically acclaimed album Imagine at their Georgian country home, Tittenhurst Park, in Berkshire, England, in the state-of-the-art studio they built in the grounds, and at the Record Plant in New York.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
The Meltdown Diary of a Wimpy Kid
By: JEFF KINNEY
The 13th hilarious book in Jeff Kinney's bestselling Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. When snow shuts down Greg Heffley's middle school, his neighbourhood transforms into a wintry battlefield. Rival groups fight over territory, build massive snow forts, and stage epic snowball fights. And in the crosshairs are Greg and his trusty best friend, Rowley Jefferson. It's a fight for survival as Greg and Rowley navigate alliances, betrayals, and warring gangs in a neighbourhood meltdown. When the snow clears, will Greg and Rowley emerge as heroes? Or will they even survive to see another day?With millions of books sold around the world in 65 editions and 56 languages, Wimpy Kid has turned millions of kids into readers.
add to basket

Concorde Award Shorlisted
Explorer
By: KATHERINE RUNDELL
Winner of the Costa Children's Book Award, Winner of the London Book Fair Children's Travel Book of the Year From his seat in the tiny aeroplane, Fred watches as the mysteries of the Amazon jungle pass by below him. He has always dreamed of becoming an explorer, of making history and of reading his name amongst the lists of great discoveries. If only he could land and look about him. As the plane crashes into the canopy, Fred is suddenly left without a choice. He and the three other children may be alive, but the jungle is a vast, untamed place. With no hope of rescue, the chance of getting home feels impossibly small. Except, it seems, someone has been there before them
add to basket

Up to 35% off Promotional Titles
Christmas Carol
By: CHARLES DICKENS
Ebenezer Scrooge is a miserly old skinflint. He hates everyone, especially children. But at Christmas three ghosts come to visit him, scare him into mending his ways, and he finds, as he celebrates with Bob Cratchit, Tiny Tim and their family, that geniality brings its own reward.
add to basket

35% off Promotional Titles
We're going on an elf chase
By: MUMFORD MARTHA
We're going on an elf chase. Come and join the fun. Can we catch them all?YES!Run, run, run!Four bunnies set off on a jolly Christmas lift-the-flap adventure to find ten little elves hidden under the flaps. You'll have to run, run, run if you're going to catch them all! And there are lots of obstacles along the way, from clippy-cloppy reindeer to roaring polar bears and flippy-flappy penguins. Stuffed with festive frolics, this is the perfect Christmas gift. From the bestselling Laura Hughes, illustrator of We're Going on an Egg Hunt and The Birthday Invitation
add to basket

New Title
WE ARE ALL LEMMINGS AND SNOWFLAKES
By: HOLLY BOURNE
Welcome to Camp Reset, a summer camp with a difference. A place offering a shot at "normality" for Olive, a girl on the edge, and for her new friends, who are all dealing with their own battles. But as Olive settles in, she starts to wonder - maybe it's this messed up world that needs fixing, and not them. And so she comes up with a plan. Because together, snowflakes can form avalanches... A trailblazing and painfully honest novel about mental health, friendship and making this crazy world a kinder place.
add to basket